its ok to be lost

I  remember when I first moved to  Hungary in 2010, it was the peak of the winter months so it got darker earlier and I was used to walking back to my hostel with my classmates,but that day I had stayed back to study a little more and had to get home alone. I was so sure I knew my way but boy was I wrong…lol

10 minutes into my walk I realized I might have just gotten lost, I kept going back to the point I started walking so I could maybe figure it out, turns out I took a wrong turn. I finally noticed some heat pipes lined on the fence and  remembered that on my way to school I noticed the pipes ended just by the entrance so I  followed the pipes until I   got to the gate. I never got lost again because I had those pipes to guide me but most importantly I noted where I  took the wrong turn. There is a saying that goes ‘when you fall, look at where you tripped  not where you landed.’

As a teenager I could not wait to grow up, get into the University and all that, oh boy I had no idea what it meant to grow up. Two years into university I realized maybe growing up is not as easy as I thought, maybe I am not ready for this kind of commitment.. Hahaha but it was too late, growing up is like a moving train whether you know where the train is going to or not, once you hop on honey the train will keep moving and the direction it goes does not depend on you because everyone expects that you checked your ticket to be sure you took the right one going to the right direction, no one will change the direction of the train just so you can get to your destination, its left for you to come down and find another way to get to where you were going.

So is life, you make mistakes, you make wrong decisions that somehow change the course of your life, and in the midst of all the chaos you feel like you do not know who you are anymore, like you have lost all bearing, I know that feeling and it sucks! But you can always retrace your steps, go back to the drawing board and figure out where it all went wrong, tell yourself the bitter truth where you need to and make the effort to do what it takes to make things right and just like i had the pipes to guide me remember the people that have always been there to guide you.

Stop finding ways to blame everyone else but you all the time,  sitting down and blaming others is like hitting your foot on a stone and instead of  telling yourself to be careful next time, you pick up the stone and start to hit it and screaming its your fault!!

I know everyone somehow expects us to have it all figured out but that is funny because we all are doing this life for the first time, so making mistakes is inevitable no matter how careful we may be..

 

Leave a comment